An Impromtu Poem about Lost before “What They Died For”

A poem about discovering Lost.

Cool Siam night

Cut and stitched with surgical precision

Heart twisted into isolation and ugliness

Brilliant, vivid images across my TV screen

Flawed men and women, also tangled from their pain

My mind absorbed, my attention drawn away from the scars

Hours pass like moments

Late night viewing

No sleep

Do not leave my room

Quick room service breaks

Cannot tear my eyes from the screen

I am on an island, unnamed, hidden

Everything else is forgotten

Cover my eyes, throw things at the flickering screen

The story feels real

Thank you for taking me to another place

Where the cuts and tangles can, for an hour, be forgotten

Leave a Reply

